My Cup of Faith

I wake up, check on my 9 month old son and then first thing I think about is coffee. Every morning without skipping a beat. My first thought goes to coffee. A warm, lightly dark cup of perfect coffee. Before I can actually have the warm cup of pure goodness in my hand I first have to get up, put my contacts in, brush my teeth, pee, change Ayden’s diaper & play with him for a few minutes. (Afterall, he does come first.) Then I have to walk downstairs, put Ayden in his playpen, make the coffee if it’s not already made, get a cup, put two packs of sweet-n-low and coconut milk in it and then pour the cup. But I don’t think about all that. I don’t think about what my day will look like- diaper changes, cleaning up inevitable puke and baby food, two minute showers because apparently Ayden doesn’t think I need a longer one than that, work, errands, nap times, laundry, reading, bills, writing, traffic, etc. 

All I think about is that warm cup of coffee. And it’s enough to get me through the entire day. It’s enough to get me through the routine, which varies day by day. It’s a comforting, necessary, consistent. 
That’s what faith is. 
You have to work at it to have it every day- some days more than others. But once you have it in your hands, no matter what lies ahead of your day, you’ll get through it. You’ll be able to look back at each point in your day and night, and be comforted because you have it today, and you’ll have it tomorrow, too. It’s like an anchor in your day. The sea may rock and roll your ship, but you best believe you aren’t going overboard. It wants your soul, puts a smile on your face, and helps you over every obstacle you’ll face- because you are going to face obstacles. We all do. 
So maybe it’s not the cup of coffee afterall that gets me through the days. But it sure does help. __a.c.

Leave a Reply

